Oscar® News


9 Foreign Language Films Advance in Oscar® Race

Nine films will advance to the next round of voting in the Foreign Language Film category for the 82nd Academy Awards®. Sixty-five films had originally qualified in the category. The films, listed in alphabetical order by country, are:

  • Argentina, “El Secreto de Sus Ojos,” Juan Jose Campanella, director
  • Australia, “Samson & Delilah,” Warwick Thornton, director
  • Bulgaria, “The World is Big and Salvation Lurks around the Corner,” Stephan Komandarev, director
  • France, “Un Prophète,” Jacques Audiard, director;
  • Germany, “The White Ribbon,” Michael Haneke, director;
  • Israel, “Ajami,” Scandar Copti and Yaron Shani, directors
  • Kazakhstan, “Kelin,” Ermek Tursunov, director
  • The Netherlands, “Winter in Wartime,” Martin Koolhoven, director
  • Peru, “The Milk of Sorrow,” Claudia Llosa, director

Foreign Language Film nominations for 2009 are again being determined in two phases.
The Phase I committee, consisting of several hundred Los Angeles-based members, screened the 65 eligible films between mid-October and January 16. The group’s top six choices, augmented by three additional selections voted by the Academy’s Foreign Language Film Award Executive Committee, constitute the shortlist.
The shortlist will be winnowed down to the five nominees by specially invited committees in New York and Los Angeles. They will spend Friday, January 29, through Sunday, January 31, viewing three films each day and then casting their ballots.

10 Semifinalists Named in Academy mtvU “Oscar® Correspondent Contest”

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences and mtvU, MTV’s 24-hour college network, announced ten teams of college journalists as semifinalists in the 2010 Oscar Correspondent Contest, each vying for a coveted position on the red carpet at the 82nd Academy Awards in Hollywood. The semifinalists are listed in alphabetical order by university:

  • Chapman University, Orange, CA—Rachel Berry (anchor) and Christian Hartnett (videographer)
  • Emerson College, Boston, MA—Terry Stackhouse (anchor) and Zach Cusson (videographer)
  • Emerson College—Dean Dimitruk (anchor) and Tyler Weinberger (videographer)
  • Florida A&M University, Tallahassee—Brandon McCaskill (anchor) and Kiarra Hart (videographer)
  • Middle Tennessee State University, Murfreesboro—Nicki DeCroce (anchor) and Tony Holt (videographer)
  • Rider University, Lawrenceville, NJ—Kelly Dixon (anchor) and Gina Grosso (videographer)
  • Syracuse University, Syracuse, NY—Eeshé White (anchor) and Patrick House (videographer)
  • Texas State University-San Marcos—Amanda Dugan (anchor) and Colby Howell (videographer)
  • University of South Dakota, Vermillion—Angie Lacompte (anchor) and Travis Berg (videographer)
  • University of Texas at Austin—Loren Grush (anchor) and Xorje Olivares (videographer)

On February 12, the three teams with the most online votes, and as agreed upon by the Academy and mtvU, will advance to the final round of competition. From February 16 to March 2, fans can continue to cast their votes for the teams of finalists as they compete for grand prize.
The grand prize-winning team will be revealed on Saturday, March 6, at an Academy press conference. The anchor and videographer will be awarded a spot on the red carpet for the 82nd Academy Awards arrivals, as well as credentials for access to backstage press rooms. The winning team’s coverage will be aired on MTV News and mtvU. The two finalist teams will receive bleacher seats along the red carpet and admission to an Oscar viewing party.

The 82nd Academy Awards nominations will be announced on Tuesday, February 2, 2010, at 5:30 a.m. PT in the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater. Academy Awards for outstanding film achievements of 2009 will be presented on Sunday, March 7, 2010, at the Kodak Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center®, and televised live by the ABC Television Network. The Oscar presentation also will be televised live in more than 200 countries worldwide.

Views All Time
Views All Time
Views Today
Views Today

About Author

Comments are closed.