NFL Report


This year’s Super Bowl on February 7 will be the 10th time the game will be played in Miami, the most of any other site. The first two Super Bowls, played in South Florida, were in 1968 and 1969. Here’s a look at the results of previous Super Bowls played in Miami:

  • Jan. 14, 1968: Green Bay 33, Oakland 14; MVP—Bart Starr, Packers
  • Jan. 12, 1969: New York Jets 16, Baltimore 7; MVP—Joe Namath, Jets
  • Jan. 17, 1971: Baltimore 16, Dallas 13; MVP—Chuck Howley, Cowboys
  • Jan. 18, 1976: Pittsburgh 21, Dallas 17; MVP—Lynn Swann, Steelers
  • Jan. 21, 1979: Pittsburgh 35, Dallas 31; MVP—Terry Bradshaw, Steelers
  • Jan. 22, 1989: San Francisco 20, Cincinnati 16; MVP—Jerry Rice, 49ers
  • Jan. 20, 1995: San Francisco 49, San Diego 26; MVP—Steve Young, 49ers
  • Jan. 31, 1999: Denver 34, Atlanta 19; MVP—John Elway, Broncos
  • Feb. 4, 2007: Indianapolis 29, Chicago 17; MVP—Peyton Manning, Colts

Cowboys Stadium in Dallas will get its first Super Bowl next year followed by Lucas Oil Stadium’s first in Indianapolis in 2012. New Orleans will tie Miami with its 10th Super Bowl in 2013 at the Louisiana Superdome.

Pro Bowl Moves to Miami
The Pro Bowl has moved from Hawaii to South Florida this year, with the game scheduled for Sunday evening in Miami at the newly renamed Sun Life Stadium, which will also be the site of this year’s Super Bowl on Feb. 7.
It’s the first time that the Pro Bowl will be played somewhere other than Aloha Stadium in Honolulu since 1979 and the first time the game will be played before the Super Bowl.
With the game coming a week prior to the Super Bowl, players selected for the Pro Bowl who are playing for the NFL championship won’t be eligible in order to avoid injury.
Several players who were selected to participate will not play due to injury, including Tom Brady, Philip Rivers, Wes Welker, Randy Moss, Jake Long, Jairus Byrd, Steven Jackson, Larry Fitzgerald, Lance Briggs and Charles Woodson.
After last season’s Pro Bowl in Honolulu, many players said that they did not want the game to be moved, and NBC broadcaster Al Michaels believes the NFL’s change won’t last.
“The NFL thinks playing it before the Super Bowl will add to the buzz. It won’t,” Michaels told the Honolulu Star-Bulletin.


“This is what I came back for. I know how hard it is to win a playoff game, regardless of age. I probably appreciate it a little more than the other guys in the locker room.”

—Minnesota Vikings’ quarterback Brett Favre after beating Dallas in an NFC Divisional playoff game.

Did You Know?
The New Orleans Saints’ first-ever playoff appearance occurred in the 1987 season, losing 44-10 at home to Minnesota in the NFC wild-card game.

New Orleans’ first year in the NFL was in 1967, when they finished 3-13. They’ve come a long way since. Here’s a breakdown of how the Saints have done in their 43-year history:

  • Losing seasons: 27
  • .500 seasons: 7
  • Winning seasons: 9
  • First winning record: 12-3 in 1987 (one fewer game due to players’ strike)
  • Most games lost to start a season: 14 in 1980 (finished 1-15)
  • Most games won to start a season: 13 in 2009 (finished 13-3)
  • Most games won in a season: 13 in 2009
  • Best stretch without a losing record: 1987-93 (five winning records, two .500 records)
  • Worst decade: 1970’s (39-101-4 regular-season)
  • Best decade: 2000’s (83-77-0 regular-season)
  • Division championships: 4 (1991, 2000 NFC West); (2006, 2009 NFC South)
  • Playoff appearances: 7 years
  • First post-season victory: 31-28 vs. St. Louis in 2000 NFC wild-card game.

Minnesota Vikings’ quarterback Brett Favre hasn’t had a season like this since the mid-1990s with Green Bay. His regular season 33 TD passes were the fourth-most in his career, his seven interceptions were the fewest, and his 107.2 passer rating was the highest of his career. Favre, 40, became the oldest QB to start an NFL conference championship game, topping Johnny Unitas, who was 38 in 1971 with the Baltimore Colts… San Diego Chargers’ coach Norv Turner signed a three-year contract extension through the 2013 season. Turner is 35-19 in three years with San Diego, including a 3-3 playoff record. The Chargers’ 13 wins this season are the second most in franchise history… The NFL will return to the United Kingdom next season when the San Francisco 49ers play the Denver Broncos on October 31 at Wembley Stadium in London. The game, which starts at 1 pm Eastern Time (5 pm UK) will be the fourth consecutive regular season contest played in London. This season, New England defeated Tampa Bay 35-7 at Wembley Stadium… For the first time in NFL history, a conference championship game featured two rookie head coaches in Rex Ryan of the New York Jets and Jim Caldwell of the Indianapolis Colts.

Copyright© 2010 Bob Hurst. All Rights Reserved. Distributed by Hurst Sports Media.

Views All Time
Views All Time
Views Today
Views Today

About Author

Comments are closed.